Fund­ing pro­grammes, sci­ence and teach­ing awards

Paderborn University offers a series of university-own funding programmes and awards and will inform and advise you on external funding opportunities available for junior academics or specific target groups.

In addition, you can use the services of the Research Division: Among other things, the Research Funding Division will be pleased to advise you personally and according to your needs on national and European funding opportunities as well as on university-internal scholarship and support programmes.


Fund­ing pro­grammes and awards at Pader­born Uni­ver­sity

Information on university-internal funds and external scholarships is available under the link scholarships and funding for doctoral studies.


Teaching award for junior academics: Award for outstanding and innovative teaching concepts

Sponsorship award for quality and innovation in teaching: Start-up funding for the realisation of an idea or implementation of a pilot phase for the improvement of innovation of quality in teaching

Teaching awards granted by the faculties

Se­lec­ted ex­tern­al fund­ing pro­grammes and awards

Heinz Maier Leibnitz Award (DFG): Award for honouring outstanding junior scientists and academics

Innovation Award of the German State of NRW: Award for honouring researchers, who contribute to the realisation of ideas in an outstanding way

Teaching award of Nordrhein-Westfalen: Award for honouring outstanding teaching

Junior Academic of the Year: Award for honouring junior scientists and academics whose outstanding commitment has an outstanding impact on science, research and development

Innovation Award of the Vodafone Foundation: Award for honouring above-average work of junior scientists and academics in the area of communications technology

Wolfgang-Ritter Award: Award for honouring outstanding scientific achievements in business administration and economics

German Thesis Award (Körber Foundation): Award for honouring dissertations of major importance for society in all disciplines
Dissertation Award of the German Informatics Society : Award for honouring dissertations in informatics
Bertha Benz Award: Award for honouring dissertations in engineering
Walter Benjamin Programmme (DFG): Funding of research projects for postdocs

Junges Kolleg of the NRW Academy of Sciences: professional, financial and idealistic support of junior scientists in NRW

Daimler and Benz Foundation: Scholarship Programme for postdocs

Fritz Thyssen Foundation: Project funding the area of humanities and social sciences

Fulbright-Cottrell Award: Fonding of teaching and research projects in the areas of chemistry and physics

Gerda Henkel Foundation: Research scholarships in the area of historical humanities

Lichtenberg Endowed Professorships: Outstanding scientists/academics, conducting research in innovative and interdisciplinary areas

DFG Emmy Noether Programme: Funding of a junior research group for exceptionally qualified early career researchers
DFG Temporary Positionsfor Principal Investigators: Funding of your own position for the duration of a research project
BMBF Junior Research Group: Funding of a junior research group in the context of topic specific calls
ERC Starting Grants: Long-term funding of groundbreaking frontier research for excellent early career researchers

For information on the funding of international mobility click here.

Additional Information

Research Funding Information (ELFI): Information database on Research Funding

Stifterverband: Teaching awards and honours for innovation and improvement of teaching

NRW Ministry of Culture & Science: Funding programmes for junior scientists and academics

Research service and advisory services of Paderborn University

Research Awards and Honours for Paderborn Scientists and Academics