Paderborn University awards business sponsorship prize to over 300 students

 |  CampusEconomy & BusinessAwardsPress releaseLiasion and Fundraising Office

Award for special achievements in the natural sciences

For the 17th time, Paderborn University has awarded the business sponsorship prize. 97 students from the Paderborn district, 128 from the Paderborn city area and 82 from the Höxter district were honoured for their scientific knowledge. "We are very pleased that the students can benefit from our cooperation with the region and especially the companies located here," said Prof. Dr. Birgitt Riegraf, President of Paderborn University. In addition to prize money of 75 euros, all the award-winning students received a certificate. Representatives of the districts of Paderborn and Höxter and the city of Paderborn also presented the winners with a voucher for the Heinz Nixdorf MuseumsForum.

The business sponsorship prize is awarded for special achievements in the subjects of mathematics, biology, chemistry and physics in grades 8 and 9 of all 26 grammar schools and comprehensive schools in the Hochstift region. It is financed by companies based in the region and awarded in cooperation with the University Network and Fundraising Office of Paderborn University. The sponsors include the VerbundVolksbank OWL, the company dSPACE from Paderborn, the Claas Foundation Harsewinkel and the sponsor community from the district of Höxter, consisting of the companies HEGLA GmbH & Co KG (Beverungen), Mahrenholz GmbH (Beverungen) and Vauth-Sagel GmbH (Brakel).

"Securing skilled workers is one of the elementary challenges of the future, also for the companies in our economic region. The earlier they discover and promote talent in the natural sciences and engineering, the more this will help them later when recruiting staff. It is therefore particularly important to start looking for young talent in schools. As a regional cooperative bank, we are happy to help by supporting the business development award," Thorsten Heggen, press officer of VerbundVolksbank OWL, emphasises.

Photo (Paderborn University, Thorsten Hennig): (from left): Hans-Bernd Janzen (Paderborn District), Bernhard Hötger (HEGLA GmbH & Co KG Beverungen), Prof. Dr. Birgitt Riegraf (President of Paderborn University), Bernd Schäfers-Maiwald (dSPACE GmbH, Paderborn), Sabine Kramm (City of Paderborn), Thorsten Heggen (Verbundvolksbank OWL), Eva Thöne (Vauth-Sagel GmbH Brakel) and Marc Schüle (University Network and Fundraising Office of Paderborn University).
Photo (Paderborn University, Thorsten Hennig): A total of 307 pupils from the districts of Paderborn and Höxter were awarded for their scientific knowledge.
Photo (Paderborn University, Thorsten Hennig): Paderborn University's Event Physics gave the students a spectacular demonstration in the packed Audimax.