Medal of Pader­born Uni­ver­sity

The founding of the first five comprehensive universities in North Rhine-Westphalia on August 1, 1972, was associated not only with the goal of expanding the educational offerings in the state, but also with the hope of contributing to the improvement of educational structures through a concept of reform in higher education policy: the realization of equal opportunities through the opening of access to higher education, the permeability of study programs and the regionalization of study offerings, the integration of theory and practice in research, teaching and study through cooperation in research priorities and through study reform.

In order to thank those who supported the university in fulfilling these tasks by promoting research and teaching, strengthening the connection to practice or enhancing regional, supra-regional and international relations, the Senate and Rectorate/Presidium donated the medal of Paderborn University as a sign of appreciation.

Year of award

2019      Prof. em. Dr. Dr. h. c. mult. Peter Freese, Paderborn University

2019      Prof. em. Dr. Dr. h. c. mult. Hartmut Steinecke, Paderborn University

2008      Prof. Dr. Sándor Antus, Universität Debrecen

2004      Prof. Dr. Rafael Alcalá Aranda, Universidad Zaragoza

2002      Prof. Dr. Santiago García Echevarría, Universidad de Alcalá de Henares

2000      Prof. John Johnston, Lock Haven University

1999      Dr. Rosemarie Herrmann, Guest Service at Paderborn University

1999      Waltraud Holzapfel, Guest Service at Paderborn University

1998      Jean-Michel Eichelbrenner, Partnerschaftsbeauftragter Le Mans/Paderborn

1995      Franz-Albert Metternich-Sándor, Herzog von Ratibor und Fürst von Corvey

1994      Denise Landry, Secrétaire Générale de l’Université du Maine

1994      Prof. Dr. Alain Pleurdeau, Président de l’Université du Maine

1983      Prof. Cecil Thurston Butler, Assistant Director des Trent Polytechnic Nottingham

1979      Prof. Francois Dornic, former president of Université du Maine in Le Mans